Games
AU n0cturnal
11 Posts
3.8 years ago
Last night SW was scheduled to face off against [], apparently the times had be set by a L4D admin, and no one on my team was aware of this, I was certain that [] had to offer times for us within a certain time or they forfeit (Since im a Noob to the l4d competitiveness), so I talked to reaver and he was very flexible about the whole situation and offered a later time etc etc trying to be nice, I was pretty sure they we would not be able to compete, but Clinton one of my clan members said that is Possible to do a 3 v 3 or something like that, don't quote me on that but I gave it some thought and offered [] to a 3 v 3 and they declined, and I was wondering if it is in the rules to have a 3 v 3 for the "Left 4 Dead Revival Tournament" If so, I think we have situation that needs to be sorted out.
AU Dr. Bones
45 Posts
3.8 years ago
According to the rules ( http://www.cybergamer.com.au/pc/l4dmod/ladder/rules/ ):

#1.1 Left 4 Dead Match Format:
Players per team: 4 (min. 3)

#2 Left 4 Dead Competition Rules
Both teams have FIFTEEN minutes from the match start time to have a minimum of THREE of their own players in the server. Teams are allowed to substitute players through the match, provided they quickly join their team. If a team drops to 2 players during the match, they have a maximum of FIVE minutes to get a 3rd player back in or they will forfeit the match. If a side has less than 3 players at the FIFTHTEEN minute mark then the match should not go ahead, the team with less than 3 players forfeits, however if both sides agree to play the match with less than the minimum required players then the match result will stand. A team cannot try to forfeit the other team after that match has commenced.

Admins correct me if I am wrong, but this seems to imply that you would have been allowed to play 3v4. To request that [] play one down on their side just because you can't get a 4th is unnecessary and you should have played 3v4 imo.